• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8

Seven new dancers were introduced to Society Members in March 2011 with five graduates from The Australian Ballet School – Jade Wood, Timothy Harford, Cameron Hunter, Jake Mangakahaia and Richard House (who was unable to attend due to illness). Imogen Chapman came from The Scottish Ballet after completing her training at The Royal Ballet School and Rena Nemoto came from The Royal Ballet after training in France and winning a Prix de Lausanne scholarship.

Ballet Society President, Josie Woodgate OAM, introduced each dancer with a resume of their background and early training. A short piece of film of each dancer was presented by Paul Brickhill, Head of Music and Audio-Visual Coordinator of The Australian Ballet School. It is always interesting to watch the faces of the dancers as they watch themselves on the screen - there is always one who hides their face!

Before David McAllister, Artistic Director, born in Perth, spoke to each of the dancers he mentioned very casually that he would not be highlighting the fact that three of the new dancers were from Western Australia!

Each of the dancers spoke confidently about their lives and their ambitions and David’s questions brought forth some interesting histories and stories and some laughs as well.

It was a relaxed and friendly function and was followed by supper when the dancers mixed with Society Members and spoke personally with many of them in The Dancers’ Deli.


  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28

© The Australian Ballet Society Inc. 2009-20. Graphic design by Style Edge Design. Website engineering by Best Web Design Melbourne. Admin